Remembering Nate

Some wonderful passages offered during a memorial for Nathaniel Clifford Kubala Denay. In loving memory:

“I would rather be ashes than dust! I would rather that my spark should burn out in a brilliant blaze than it should be stifled by dry-rot. I would rather be a superb meteor, every atom of me in magnificent glow, than a sleepy and permanent planet. The function of man is to live, not to exist. I shall not waste my days trying to prolong them. I shall use my time.” – Jack London

O thou beloved maid-servant of God, although the loss of a son is indeed heart-breaking and beyond the limits of human endurance, yet one who knoweth and understandeth is assured that the son hath not been lost but, rather, hath stepped from this world to another, and she will find him in the divine realm. That reunion shall be for eternity, while in this world separation is inevitable and bringeth with it a burning grief. Praise be unto God that thou hast faith, art turning thy face toward the everlasting Kingdom and believest in the existence of a heavenly world. Therefore be thou not disconsolate, do not languish, do not sigh, neither wail nor weep; for agitation and mourning deeply affect his soul in the divine realm. That beloved child addresseth thee from the hidden world: O’ thou kind mother, thank divine Providence that I have been freed from a small and gloomy cage and, like the birds of the meadows, have soared to the divine world— a world which is spacious, illumined, and ever gay and jubilant. Therefore, lament not, O mother, and be not grieved; I am not of the lost, nor have I been obliterated and destroyed. I have shaken off the mortal form and have raised my banner in the spiritual world. Following this separation is everlasting companionship. Thou shalt find me in the heaven of the Lord, immersed in an ocean of light.” – ‘Abdu’l-Bahá

“You can blow out a candle but you can’t blow out a fire, once the flames begin to catch the wind will blow it higher.” – Peter Gabriel

“Know thou of a certainty that Love is the secret of God’s holy Dispensation, the manifestation of the All-Merciful, the fountain of spiritual outpourings. Love is heaven’s kindly light, the Holy Spirit’s eternal breath that vivifieth the human soul. Love is the cause of God’s revelation unto man, the vital bond inherent, in accordance with the divine creation, in the realities of things. Love is the one means that ensureth true felicity both in this world and the next. Love is the light that guideth in darkness, the living link that uniteth God with man, that assureth the progress of every illumined soul.

Love is the most great law that ruleth this mighty and heavenly cycle, the unique power that bindeth together the diverse elements of this material world, the supreme magnetic force that directeth the movements of the spheres in the celestial realms. Love revealeth with unfailing and limitless power the mysteries latent in the universe. Love is the spirit of life unto the adorned body of mankind, the establisher of true civilization in this mortal world, and the shedder of imperishable glory upon every high-aiming race and nation.” – ‘Abdu’l-Bahá


Be here now, no other place to be

Or just sit there dreaming of how life would be

If we were somewhere better

Somewhere far away from all all worries

Well, here we are

You are the love of my life

Be here now, no other place to be

All the doubts that linger, just set them free

And let good things happen

And let the future come into each moment

Like a rising sun

You are the love of my life

You are the love of my life

Yeah, you know you are

Sun comes up and we start again

Sun comes up and we start again

Sun comes up and we start again

Sun comes up and we start again

Sun comes up and we start again

Sun comes up and we start again

And it’s all new today

All we have to say

Is be here now

Be here now, no other place to be

This whole world keeps changing, come change with me

Everything that’s happened, all that’s yet to come

Is here inside this moment, it’s the only one

You are the love of my life

You are the love of my life

Yeah, you know you are

Sun comes up and we start again

Sun comes up and we start again

Sun comes up and we start again

Sun comes up and we start again

Sun comes up and we start again

Sun comes up and we start again

It’s all new today

All we have to say

Is be here now” – Mason Jennings

“Death is not extinguishing the light; it is only putting out the lamp because the dawn has come.” – Rabindranath Tagore

“Know thou of a truth that the soul, after its separation from the body, will continue to progress until it attaineth the presence of God, in a state and condition which neither the revolution of ages and centuries, nor the changes and chances of this world, can alter. It will endure as long as the Kingdom of God, His sovereignty, His dominion and power will endure. It will manifest the signs of God and His attributes, and will reveal His loving kindness and bounty. The movement of My Pen is stilled when it attempteth to befittingly describe the loftiness and glory of so exalted a station. The honor with which the Hand of Mercy will invest the soul is such as no tongue can adequately reveal, nor any other earthly agency describe. Blessed is the soul which, at the hour of its separation from the body, is sanctified from the vain imaginings of the peoples of the world. Such a soul liveth and moveth in accordance with the Will of its Creator, and entereth the all-highest Paradise.” – Bahá’u’lláh

“I like the word “gumption” because it’s so homely and so forlorn and so out of style it looks as if it needs a friend and isn’t likely to reject anyone who comes along. I like it also because it describes exactly what happens to someone who connects with Quality. He gets filled with gumption. A person filled with gumption doesn’t sit around dissipating and stewing about things. He’s at the front of the train of his own awareness, watching to see what’s up the track and meeting it when it comes. That’s gumption. If you’re going to repair a motorcycle, an adequate supply of gumption is the first and most important tool. If you haven’t got that you might as well gather up all the other tools and put them away, because they won’t do you any good.” — Robert Pirsig

“I don’t know exactly what a prayer is. I do know how to pay attention, how to fall down into the grass, how to kneel down in the grass, how to be idle and blessed, how to stroll through the fields, which is what I have been doing all day. Tell me, what else should I have done? Doesn’t everything die at last, and too soon? Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?” – Mary Oliver, The Summer Day

“Whenever anyone discusses death, they talk about the inevitable loss, but no one ever mentions the inevitable gain. How when you lose a loved one, you suddenly have a spirit ally, an energy on the other side that is with you always, that is with you just by calling their name. I know this sounds like a lot of hokey new-age stuff, but really it’s old age, so ancient and wonderful and filled with such wisdom that we have had to relearn it because our miseducation has taught us to name it ‘superstition.’” – Sandra Cisnero

“To keep every cog and wheel is the first precaution of intelligent tinkering.” – Aldo Leopold

“Life never ends.  THAT would violate the definition.  It just goes elsewhere.  We can’t know, for sure, how much of us goes along with it–if any.  But consider: If our personal experience of life ends with death, we’ll never know it.  We won’t be THERE to know it.  Cheerful, eh?  Well, certainly pragmatic. Plus, everybody does it–at one time or another.  It’s “popular.” Ultimately, I don’t believe that there’s malice in it.  Nothing we can’t handle.  It’s like birth, but backwards.” – Professor uwm

“My best college friend (and on-and-off roommate) was a dazzling scientist–two majors: Biology and Organic Chemistry.  Perfect nerd. He was snatched-up, at once, upon graduation, and he worked at Sloan Kettering, at Columbia University, and at a celebrated cancer research university in Austria..  His specialty?  Cancer. He was about 30 when he died of cancer.  Best buddy. yup, these things happen. Here’s what I did: Mark (his name) gave me a small, hand-carved sandstone “jewel box” as a gift, one time.  I promised GOD and Mark’s memory that I’d use it every single day–and remember him with gratitude, each time I used it,  for the rest of my life. And I have.  I’ve kept my keys in that box since the day he died.  And I made it a CONSCIOUS practice to think of him each time I get my keys and put them away.  Still do. For me, he’s still alive, and still I’m fond of him.  I have no way of knowing if what I’m doing has a basis in reality.  But that’s how I pay respects to his memory and our friendship. He’s been gone for more than thirty years, but I say “hello” to him, every day. The practice feeds my Faith.*****We could talk about death.  I’ve seen a lot of it.  And I’m on that conveyor belt, too.  So are most of my dearest friends–one by one. I think it takes many years of serious consideration to be able to approach death without fear, trepidation.  In fact, at last, I can approach death with an expectation of adventure. (And I’m not talking about a pot-luck picnic in the clouds with dead relatives.) *****I have found the movie (written by Carl Sagan) CONTACT (with Jodi Foster) to be a good depiction of death, for people with scientific orientations. I’m brought to joyous tears, with each viewing, when Jodi finds the courage to enter The MACHINE. Beyond. Beyond THE BEYOND. Hail the goer!” – Professor uwm

I would rather be ashes than dust!
I would rather that my spark should burn out
in a brilliant blaze than it should be stifled by dry-rot.
I would rather be a superb meteor, every atom
of me in magnificent glow, than a sleepy and permanent planet.
The function of man is to live, not to exist.
I shall not waste my days trying to prolong them.
I shall use my time.
This entry was posted in Death - Passing - Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

