Forgiveness

“I will speak ill of no man and speak all the good I know of everybody. Any fool can criticize, condemn, and complain, and most fools do, but it takes character and self control to be understanding and forgiving. A great man shows his greatness by the way he treats little men.

Instead of condemning people, let’s try to understand them, let’s try to figure out why they do what they do, that’s a lot more profitable and intriguing than criticism and it breeds sympathy, tolerance, and kindness, to know all is to forgive all.” – Dale Carnegie

Last week I had an inspired conversation with myself.

It went a little something like this:

“Throughout your life you have made some, even many, mistakes. At times you have hurt people. Even the people you care about the most. You have said things you didn’t mean. You’ve broken promises. You’ve disrespected friends, strangers, values, ideas, and beliefs. At times you’ve closed your eyes, your ears, and your mind to things you were too weak to face. You’ve avoided the elephants in the room, after inviting them in, in the first place; unclear who suffered more in those cases, you, others, or the neglected elephants. You have acted against your own better judgment. You have not helped when you could have, even sometimes when you wanted to. You haven’t given when you’ve had enough to give. You’ve hated, at times. You’ve judged. You’ve avoided, You’ve denied. You’ve lied — to yourself and others.”

“But! You have been trying. You’ve always had the best intentions, however misguided your actions. I know because I’ve been there with you. I’ve seen how much you care, how much you want things to be right. You’ve been trying to be good, you’ve been trying to be fair. You’ve been living in this world the best way you could understand. You’ve wanted joy. You’ve wanted peace. You’ve wanted knowledge. You’ve wanted humor. You’ve wanted happiness. You’ve wanted to make people proud. You’ve wanted friendships. Just like every other person, you’ve wanted to love, and be loved. You’ve been trying, trying, trying, trying, trying. You still owe some apologies out there, but for all the mistakes you’ve made, for all the misjudgments, for all the missteps, I forgive you. I forgive you.

And! From now on, I trust you. I trust you to act with the best of intentions, as you always have, but finally I trust you to do so. I trust you to honor your values, to do your very best. I trust you to go in the direction of your dreams, to live the life you’ve imagined, to fulfill any other cliché that rings true for you. I trust you to find joy wherever there is joy to be found, which is everywhere, by the way, how great is that? I trust to you to honor and fulfill your own needs, and use the rest of your energy to create joy for yourself and others whenever, wherever, however. I trust you to respect yourself as best you know how, so you can honor everyone else too with your best possible self. At times, you will make mistakes, you have habits to break, and some choices aren’t easy. But just as I have forgiven you now for all things passed, I will keep on forgiving you, because I trust you, and I love you. Whatever this world throws at you, you have you. You are loving, and you are loved, and you are forgiven. When you forgive you love, and when you love God shines his light on you.”

“Stand in front of a mirror and gaze into your own eyes or go into your Pyramid of Light and lie on the crystal table. Say to yourself, “I forgive myself for any action, thought or deed, past, present or future, in this or any other reality, which has not been composed of the frequencies of Sacred Love. I forgive everyone with whom I have shared conflicting, discordant energies during my present or past lives, in this or any other reality and I return to them, wrapped in a bubble of love, all negative memories, impacted energies and probable futures that we have created together. I ask the angels of forgiveness to permeate all facets of my Being with the frequencies of Love/Light so that I may become ‘soul-focused and heart-centered’ as a Bearer of Light and a self-master.”  Archangel Michael

This entry was posted in Forgiveness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

